And all shall be well

onions2

yarrow_top

tusindfryd

In many ways, this week has been rather difficult, and as someone who is brought up to adhere to the principle ‘work first, pleasure second’ (damn the Protestant work ethic!), I’ve been concentrating on my to-do-list way too much. I’m more than sure that I’m not alone in this, and I guess brother Alois would say something on the lines of “Could we see this as an opportunity for solidarity?” šŸ™‚ And yes, indeed, we could.

Hopefully, one day I’ll be able to live the slower life I dream about, but for the time being I have to manage with daydreaming and simple joys, like treating myself with yarrow tea instead of coffee at work. The idea that summer will come again, and there will be meadows and herbal tea plucking and the very special evening light… yes, that keeps me going. That and some yarn. (And friends. Oh, friends!)

On Friday, I cast on for an Icelandic sweater to my husband. Or, to be precise, a cardigan version of the Riddari sweater. He likes the earth colours and doesn’t want the cardigan to ‘scream’ (I think most men feel the same way – women seem to have much more colour courage!), so this is what it looks like at the moment:

Riddari_Foxy

(Yes, I know, Foxy the Cat is adorable!)

It’s been easy peasy by now – oh, the sweet moment when you start something new and it still has the potential to become a masterpiece! – BUT I’m approaching the moment when everything can go terribly wrong. And as a Master of Awfully Bad Scenarios I really fear it will. I’ll have to join the sleeves to the body and start knitting the yoke. And this is where I’m already stuck with my own Asta Sollilja sweater – the yoke turned out too wide, and then I ran out of yarn, and, well, now that I’ve got the yarn the sweater is still hibernating on the shelf and waiting for better days…

But even if I may feel faint-hearted, I’m about to tackle the sweaters, both of them, and also this new week. And let’s hope dear Julian was right and all shall be well, and ALL shall be well

Courage to all of us! šŸ™‚

One thought on “And all shall be well

Leave a Reply

